InScribe 6 How To Backup And Restore AutoText

To backup AutoText in InScribe v.6 the options are available in the File Menu under Options.

6AT-01.jpg

Then open the Advanced Options and select the "Backup and Restore Personal Files."

6AT-02.jpg

Use the "Backup to Set" options when saving a copy of personal files to the local computer.  This allows Transcriptionists to quickly switch between different collections of AutoText entries.  For example, a transcriptionist can have one set of expansions when doing regular Transcription and a different set of expansions when editing Voice Recognition work.  Note that Set's cannot be replaced with the same name, unless the existing Set is first Deleted.  Use the "Backup to Location" options when creating a backup and you want to specify the location the backup file is saved to.  This makes it easy to backup AutoText entries to removable media and Cloud options, or transfer an AutoText set to another PC.

Backup to Set

Select the "Backup to Set" option, enter a name, and press "OK" to create a new Set.

6AT-03.jpg

Restore from Set

Select an existing Set, and select "Restore from Set" to switch to the selected Set.  There is a confirmation window to remind Transcriptionists that all current AutoText entries will be deleted and replaced with the entries from the selected Set.

6AT-04.jpg

Delete Set

Select and existing set and press "Delete Set" to permanently delete the contents.

6AT-05.jpg

Backup to Location

Chose to "Backup to Location" to specify a specific location to save the backup files to.  This makes it easy to save a copy to removable media and to transfer the backup files to another computer.  Select a location to backup to, name the file, and press "Save" to create a backup in the selected location.

6AT-06.jpg

Restore from Location

To restore from a backup saved in a specific location, even from a location stored on removable media, select the "Restore from Location" option.  Navigate to the file location, select the file, and press "Open."  There is a confirmation window to remind Transcriptionists that all current AutoText entries will be deleted and replaced with the entries from the selected Set.