Copy Options in InScribe

InScribe versions 4 and 6 both offer different options to copy a transcription into a new job.

In InScribe 6, the options are named as the following (under the Transcription tab).

InScribe6copyOptions.jpg

In InScribe 4, the options are named as the following (also under the Transcription tab).

InScribe4.180copyOptions.jpg

This article explains the differences between each of the copy options and what each option can accomplish.

Copy Transcription (to New Transcription)

This option will copy everything from the original job to the new job, including the transcription text, dictation audio, patient information, dictating clinician, document type and location, associates, and additional authenticators. This is the most "complete" copy option available, as it creates a new document in the InScribe queue that is identical to the original job.

Copy Dictation (to New Transcription)

As the option states, Copy Dictation will NOT copy the transcription text to the new job. It will copy the dictation audio, dictating clinician, and document type and location, and will load the editor with the default document template for the document type and clinician from the original job.

Copy Dictation and Header (to New Transcription)

This option will copy the dictation audio, dictating clinician, docuemnt type and location (like the Copy Dictation option), with the addition of patient information from the original job.

Split Transcription (at Cursor)

This option will copy the dictation audio, dictating clinician, document type and location, associates, and additional authenticators. The distinct feature of this option is that it will copy the transcription text to from the original job, but only the text to the right of the cursor position in the original document. If you had the cursor at the end of the document in the original job, this option would copy none of the transcription text; if the cursor was at the beginning, it would copy all of the transcription text.

Important - Checking In a Copy Will Discard It From InScribe!

Please note that when you make a copy of a transcription, it does not get a transcription ID (TID) assigned until it is sent to QA or delivered to the client. Because the copy is "offline" until you submit or promote the document, checking in any copy in your InScribe queue will discard it and will not be sent to the server. This will cause any work done in the copy to be purged and unable to be recovered.

Which Option Keeps What Data?

Dictation Audio Transcription Text Patient Information Dictating Clinician Document Type & Location Associates & Additional Authenticators
Copy Transcription      Yes                    Yes      Yes     Yes       Yes            Yes
Copy Dictation      Yes                     No       No     Yes       Yes             No
Copy Dictation and Header      Yes                     No      Yes     Yes       Yes            Yes
Split Transcription      Yes Yes - Text After Cursor in Original Job is Kept       No     Yes       Yes            Yes